"This post includes affiliate links for which I may make a small commission at no extra cost to you should you make a purchase."

Close up iPhone showing Udemy application and laptop with notebook


In today’s digital world, cybersecurity is of utmost importance. With the increasing number of cyber threats and attacks, organizations need skilled professionals who can effectively defend their systems and networks. The Blue Team, also known as the defensive team, plays a crucial role in protecting the organization’s assets from cyber threats. If you are interested in a career as a Blue Team professional or looking to enhance your existing skills, taking online courses and certifications can be a great way to stay updated with the latest defensive security techniques. In this article, we will explore the 10 best Blue Team defensive security courses and certifications available online.

1. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The CISSP certification is highly regarded in the cybersecurity industry, demonstrating a deep understanding of information security. It covers various domains, including security and risk management, asset security, and security operations. With this certification, you will gain essential knowledge in areas such as access control, cryptography, and security assessments.

2. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

While primarily considered a certification for ethical hacking, the CEH course also provides valuable insights into defensive security practices. It equips you with knowledge about how hackers operate, enabling you to develop effective strategies for protecting against attacks. The CEH certification focuses on topics like information security controls, risk management, and incident management.

3. Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

Although OSCP is predominantly an offensive security certification, it offers valuable knowledge for Blue Team professionals as well. It is a hands-on certification that involves practical exercises and challenges to test your ability to identify and exploit vulnerabilities. By going through the OSCP course, you will gain a deep understanding of offensive techniques, thereby making you better equipped to defend against such attacks.

4. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The CISM certification is specifically designed for professionals who are responsible for managing an enterprise’s information security. It covers domains like information security governance, risk management, and incident management. With this certification, you will develop expertise in planning and managing an information security program, enhancing your defensive capabilities.

5. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

CISA is a globally accepted certification for auditing, controlling, and monitoring information systems. It focuses on various topics, including auditing information systems, IT governance, and protecting information assets. By acquiring the CISA certification, you will gain expertise in assessing vulnerabilities, implementing controls, and ensuring compliance with regulations.

6. CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ certification is an entry-level certification that covers core security concepts and best practices. It is vendor-neutral, making it widely applicable across different environments. The course covers topics such as network security, threats, and vulnerabilities, cryptography, and access control. Acquiring the Security+ certification will validate your foundational knowledge in defensive security.

7. Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

With the increasing adoption of cloud technologies, the CCSP certification is highly valuable. It covers topics like cloud concepts, architecture, and design, as well as cloud security operations. This certification equips you with the knowledge and skills required to ensure the secure implementation and management of cloud environments.

8. CREST Certified Intrusion Analyst (CCIA)

The CCIA certification focuses on intrusion analysis and is designed for professionals who perform threat intelligence and incident response activities. It covers topics like threat intelligence, network and host-based intrusion analysis, and malware analysis. By obtaining the CCIA certification, you will sharpen your skills in identifying and responding to potential threats.

9. SANS GIAC Certified Incident Handler (GCIH)

The GCIH certification is highly regarded for incident handling and response. It covers various topics, including incident handling process, understanding and mitigating common attack techniques, and malware analysis. With this certification, you will enhance your ability to effectively respond to and recover from cyber incidents.

10. EC-Council Certified Incident Handler (ECIH)

The ECIH certification focuses specifically on incident handling and response. It covers topics like incident response process and procedures, detecting malicious activities, and performing forensic analysis. By obtaining the ECIH certification, you will acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to handle and respond to security incidents effectively.


As the demand for skilled Blue Team professionals continues to rise, acquiring relevant certifications and completing online courses becomes increasingly important. From the well-regarded CISSP and CEH certifications to the practical OSCP certification, each course offers unique benefits to enhance your defensive security skills. By investing in these top 10 Blue Team defensive security courses and certifications, you can ensure you are equipped with the necessary knowledge and expertise to protect organizations from cyber threats. Stay ahead of the game and stay informed to succeed in the ever-evolving field of cybersecurity.