"This post includes affiliate links for which I may make a small commission at no extra cost to you should you make a purchase."

Close up iPhone showing Udemy application and laptop with notebook


In today’s digital age, information technology (IT) security has become an essential skill for professionals in various industries. Cyber threats and data breaches are on the rise, making it crucial for organizations to invest in robust IT security measures. To stay ahead of the curve, individuals need to constantly update their knowledge and skills in this field. Thankfully, there are numerous online courses and certifications available that provide comprehensive training in IT security. In this article, we will explore the ten best IT security courses and certifications online, equipping you with the information needed to make an informed decision on the best path to enhance your IT security expertise.

1. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

Offered by (ISC)², the CISSP certification is widely recognized and respected in the IT security industry. This certification covers a broad range of topics, including risk management, asset security, and security operations. It is a comprehensive course designed for experienced IT professionals looking to validate their expertise in IT security.

2. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

The CEH certification, provided by the EC-Council, focuses on ethical hacking techniques. This course equips professionals with the skills needed to identify vulnerabilities in systems and networks, allowing organizations to strengthen their defenses proactively. The CEH certification is ideal for IT professionals interested in penetration testing and vulnerability assessment.

3. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The CISM certification, offered by ISACA, is designed for IT professionals responsible for managing, designing, and overseeing an enterprise’s information security program. This course covers topics such as information risk management and incident management, enabling individuals to develop skills in managing and mitigating IT security risks effectively.

4. CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Security+ is an entry-level certification that provides a solid foundation in IT security. This highly recognized certification covers topics such as network security, cryptography, and threat management. It is suitable for individuals who are new to the IT security field and want to kickstart their careers in this domain.

5. Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

The Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP) certification is ideal for individuals interested in becoming ethical hackers. This certification involves hands-on training and practical exams, enabling students to gain real-world experience in penetration testing and exploit development. The OSCP certification is highly regarded and demonstrates a deep understanding of offensive security techniques.

6. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

The CISA certification, offered by ISACA, focuses on auditing, control, and security of information systems. CISA-certified professionals are skilled in assessing vulnerabilities, reporting on compliance, and implementing information system controls. This certification is particularly relevant for individuals looking to develop their careers in IT auditing and assurance.

7. GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC)

The GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC) certification is vendor-neutral and covers a broad range of IT security topics. This certification validates professionals’ knowledge in areas such as network security, access control, and cryptography. The GSEC certification is well-regarded in the industry and demonstrates a solid understanding of fundamental IT security concepts.

8. Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

With the increasing adoption of cloud computing, the Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP) certification has gained significant relevance. Offered by (ISC)² and the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA), this certification validates professionals’ skills in designing, implementing, and managing secure cloud environments. The CCSP certification is suitable for individuals working with cloud technologies or planning to migrate their organization’s infrastructure to the cloud.

9. Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

The CRISC certification, provided by ISACA, focuses on IT risk management and control. It equips professionals with the skills to identify and manage IT-related risks within an organization effectively. The CRISC certification is ideal for individuals responsible for enterprise risk management and information system control.

10. Certified Information Privacy Professional (CIPP)

In an era where data privacy is of utmost importance, the CIPP certification, offered by the International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP), holds great value. This certification covers privacy laws and regulations, including GDPR and CCPA, and enables professionals to make informed decisions in managing privacy risks. The CIPP certification is essential for individuals involved in data protection and privacy management.


As the demand for IT security professionals continues to grow, staying up-to-date with the latest knowledge and skills in this field is of paramount importance. The ten IT security courses and certifications mentioned in this article offer a comprehensive and diverse range of training options, catering to both beginners and experienced professionals. By investing in the right IT security course or certification, you can enhance your career prospects and contribute to making the digital world a safer place. Whether you choose to pursue the CISSP, CEH, CISM, or any other certification, each of these options equips you with essential skills and knowledge to excel in the dynamic and ever-evolving field of IT security.