"This post includes affiliate links for which I may make a small commission at no extra cost to you should you make a purchase."

Close up iPhone showing Udemy application and laptop with notebook


In today’s digital age, network security is of utmost importance. As more and more businesses and individuals rely on the internet for various activities, the risk of cyber threats and attacks continues to grow. To safeguard valuable data and ensure the smooth functioning of networks, organizations are in constant need of network security professionals. If you are interested in pursuing a career in this field or looking to enhance your existing knowledge and skills, enrolling in a network security course or obtaining a certification can be highly beneficial. In this article, we will explore the ten best network security courses and certifications available online, providing you with a comprehensive guide to help you choose the right one for your needs.

1. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

With its high industry recognition, the CISSP certification is an excellent choice for professionals seeking to validate their expertise in the field of network security. Offered by (ISC)², this certification is renowned for its comprehensive coverage of various security domains, including security and risk management, network security, and security operations. The CISSP certification can significantly enhance your career prospects by demonstrating your commitment to maintaining the highest standards of network security.

2. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

For those interested in the offensive side of network security, the CEH certification is an ideal choice. This certification equips individuals with the knowledge and skills needed to identify and exploit vulnerabilities in computer systems and networks ethically. Offered by the EC-Council, the CEH certification is highly valued by organizations looking to hire ethical hackers who can think like cybercriminals and protect their networks effectively.

3. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

Designed for professionals responsible for managing, designing, and overseeing an enterprise’s information security program, the CISM certification is globally recognized and highly respected. Offered by ISACA, this certification validates your expertise in managing and assessing an organization’s network security and information systems. With a focus on governance, risk management, and incident response, the CISM certification is an excellent choice for individuals looking to advance their careers in network security management.

4. CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ certification is an entry-level certification perfect for those new to network security. This certification covers fundamental concepts and skills required to secure networks and protect against common security threats. Recognized globally, the CompTIA Security+ certification is vendor-neutral, making it ideal for individuals interested in a broader understanding of network security before specializing further.

5. Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

Aspiring penetration testers should consider earning the OSCP certification. Offered by Offensive Security, this hands-on certification focuses on practical skills by challenging candidates to exploit and penetrate various systems. With an emphasis on real-world scenarios, the OSCP certification is highly regarded by organizations seeking professionals who can effectively identify and mitigate network vulnerabilities.

6. Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

The CRISC certification is a globally recognized credential for professionals specializing in risk management and control. Offered by ISACA, this certification demonstrates your ability to identify and manage information system risks and implement appropriate controls. With a focus on understanding business objectives and aligning them with network security strategies, the CRISC certification is a valuable asset for individuals looking to specialize in risk assessment and mitigation.

7. Certified Network Defender (CND)

For those seeking a comprehensive understanding of network security, the CND certification is an excellent choice. Offered by the EC-Council, this certification covers various network defense techniques, including designing secure networks, implementing firewalls, and network perimeter defenses. The CND certification equips professionals with the necessary skills to build a robust and secure network infrastructure.

8. Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security Administrator (PCNSA)

The PCNSA certification is specifically designed for professionals responsible for deploying, operating, and maintaining Palo Alto Networks’ next-generation firewalls. This certification validates your ability to protect networks using Palo Alto Networks’ security technologies, ensuring you have the knowledge and skills necessary to secure network perimeters effectively.

9. Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

As cloud computing becomes increasingly popular, it is crucial to have professionals specialized in securing cloud environments. The CCSP certification, offered by (ISC)², validates your knowledge of cloud security concepts, regulations, and best practices. This certification is an excellent choice for network security professionals seeking to extend their expertise to include cloud-based security considerations.

10. Certified Secure Computer User (CSCU)

While network security professionals are typically responsible for securing corporate networks, it is equally important to educate end-users on safe computing practices. The CSCU certification, offered by the EC-Council, equips individuals with fundamental knowledge of computer and network security. This certification is valuable for employees who need to understand the basics of network security to contribute to a safe computing environment.


As the demand for network security professionals continues to grow, gaining the right knowledge and certifications can significantly enhance career prospects in this field. Whether you are a beginner seeking a foundational understanding or an experienced professional looking to specialize, the ten network security courses and certifications discussed in this article provide a wide range of options. Investing in these courses and certifications will not only sharpen your skills but also demonstrate your commitment to maintaining network security standards. So, choose the one that aligns with your career goals and take a step towards becoming a sought-after network security professional.