"This post includes affiliate links for which I may make a small commission at no extra cost to you should you make a purchase."

Close up iPhone showing Udemy application and laptop with notebook


In today’s digital world, network service professionals play a critical role in maintaining and securing the vast networks that connect us all. As technology continues to advance, it is crucial for professionals in this field to stay updated with the latest knowledge and skills. Fortunately, there are numerous online courses and certifications available to help network service professionals enhance their expertise. In this article, we will explore the ten best network service courses and certifications available online, providing valuable insights into each program and how they can benefit aspiring and experienced network service professionals alike.

1. Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

Cisco, a renowned leader in networking solutions, offers the CCNA certification, which is widely recognized and highly valued in the industry. This certification covers the fundamentals of networking, including network access, IP connectivity, IP services, and security fundamentals. The CCNA training equips students with the knowledge required to design, configure, manage, and troubleshoot both wired and wireless networks. It lays a strong foundation for individuals aiming to excel in network service careers.

2. CompTIA Network+

CompTIA’s Network+ certification is an excellent starting point for individuals who want to establish their skills in networking. This course covers a range of topics, including networking concepts, infrastructure, security, and troubleshooting. The Network+ certification is vendor-neutral, meaning that the knowledge gained can be applied to various networking technologies and environments. The course materials and practice exams provided by CompTIA are highly regarded, making this certification an asset for anyone seeking a career in network services.

3. Juniper Networks Certified Internet Associate – Junos (JNCIA-Junos)

Juniper Networks is a leading provider of networking solutions, and their JNCIA-Junos certification focuses on their Junos operating system. This certification validates an individual’s understanding of networking fundamentals, including routing, switching, and basic troubleshooting. The JNCIA-Junos course is highly regarded and offers comprehensive training materials, enabling professionals to gain a deep understanding of Juniper’s networks and enhance their networking skills.

4. Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator Associate

As cloud computing becomes increasingly prevalent, network service professionals need to acquire skills specific to cloud platforms. Microsoft’s Certified Azure Administrator Associate certification focuses on networking within the Azure cloud environment. With this certification, individuals gain expertise in implementing and managing virtual networks, securing connections, and troubleshooting network-related issues on Microsoft Azure. This certification is ideal for professionals aspiring to work with cloud-based networks and services.

5. Certified Wireless Network Administrator (CWNA)

Wireless networks are an integral part of modern networking, and the Certified Wireless Network Administrator (CWNA) certification delves into this specialized domain. CWNA covers essential wireless networking topics such as wireless security, RF fundamentals, site survey methodology, and wireless network troubleshooting. This certification is invaluable for professionals involved in managing and securing wireless networks, ensuring they have the expertise required to meet the challenges of an increasingly connected world.

6. Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

While not specifically a networking certification, the CRISC certification is highly relevant for network service professionals concerned with risk management and information security. This certification provides individuals with a comprehensive understanding of risk identification, assessment, mitigation, and response within an information systems context. Network service professionals with CRISC certification possess the ability to identify potential vulnerabilities within network infrastructures and develop strategies to manage these risks effectively.

7. Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security Administrator (PCNSA)

Palo Alto Networks offers the PCNSA certification, which focuses on network security administration using their Next-Generation Firewall (NGFW) technology. This certification covers topics such as firewall configuration, virtual private networking (VPN), security policies, and logging and reporting. The PCNSA course equips professionals with the necessary skills to manage and secure network infrastructures using Palo Alto Networks’ advanced security solutions.

8. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

In an era where network security breaches are becoming increasingly common, organizations require professionals who have the skills to protect their networks from malicious attacks. The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification trains individuals to think like a hacker, allowing them to identify vulnerabilities in network infrastructures. This certification is highly sought after and provides network service professionals with the knowledge required to implement effective security measures and safeguard their organization’s networks.

9. VMware Certified Professional – Network Virtualization (VCP-NV)

Virtualization is a key aspect of modern network service management, allowing for increased flexibility and efficiency. VMware’s VCP-NV certification focuses on network virtualization and software-defined networking within VMware NSX environments. With this certification, professionals can demonstrate their ability to design, implement, manage, and troubleshoot virtualized network infrastructures. As virtualization continues to shape the networking landscape, this certification is becoming increasingly valuable.

10. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The CISSP certification is a globally recognized standard for information security across various domains, including network security. While it is not network-specific, network service professionals benefit from acquiring this certification as it demonstrates their expertise in securing networks and mitigating cyber threats. The CISSP certification covers topics such as security and risk management, asset security, and network security, providing comprehensive knowledge and skills required for ensuring network integrity.


As technology advances and network service professionals face new challenges, it is crucial to continuously update skills and knowledge. The ten courses and certifications mentioned in this article offer opportunities for professionals to enhance their expertise in various aspects of networking, including fundamentals, security, wireless, virtualization, and risk management. By investing in these courses and certifications, aspiring and experienced network service professionals can stay ahead of the curve and ensure they have the skills necessary to thrive in their careers. Whether aiming for a promotion, seeking job opportunities, or simply expanding one’s knowledge, these certifications can pave the way to success in the dynamic field of network services.